Skip to content

All you bead is love…

May 16, 2011
Courtesy of Miss Millificent

 

I got an email this morning offering me  ‘20% off all seed beads – save now!

Well, that is enough to bring on palpitations at the best of times but the ranges and colour mixes that they showcased made me catch my breath a little…
 
It got me wondering why our different art forms can bring out such an emotive response.
  • Is it part of our passion for the creation of a beautiful object?
  • Is it the potential that a few materials can make something unrecognisable from the original components?
  • Or is it just love? 
I would actually go so far as to say I love my beads… extreme, I know. But I have heard from many other artists who have said that their creative medium brings them such joy that at times it can be utterly overwhelming. I have been known to shed a tear (ok, get misty eyed, I wasn’t bawling my eyes out!) when walking into a bead shop with a particularly good and well-arranged selection. It simply was my idea of heaven.
 
We do have some excellent bead shops in the UK but nothing we have compares to the US. They LOVE their beads!
This powerful force that is awakened by my tiny glass spheres, is my passion for creativity and in a world where there is often much destruction and negative emotion, I think it is a good thing to hold on to this love, and live it.

What inspires you and how does your creative process make you feel? Am I the only one who feels love for my beads?!

I wanted to finish with one of my favourite quotes which is by George Bernard Shaw,
 
” Life isn’t about finding yourself, life is about creating yourself. ”

 

Hear, hear!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 12:41 pm

    I’m here … i’ve found you!
    x

  2. May 16, 2011 5:11 pm

    Love it. I’ve subscribed and will add you to my links 😀

    Lisa xoxo

Leave a Reply

