Skip to content

Featured Friend Friday!

June 10, 2011

This weeks feature is on Hazel Ward from ContinuumDesigns.

We met on a beading forum and I was instantly struck by her natural talent for fabulous polymer clay beads. I have to admit that it is one medium that really defeats me, the blending, layering and those mind blowing canes?! I asked her a bit more about herself and her art…

Tell me a bit about yourself

I live in a small village in Nottinghamshire (the sort of place where a post box is the main landmark), and for the last three years I’ve been spending most of my time working on polymer clay creations and learning new jewellery skills like lampworking. I was supposed to be doing something to do with my MA in Cultural Studies, but I took a year off and never went back – oops.

Sugar bead set

Describe your style in one sentence.

I’m not sure that I have a particular style; but I think that there are definitely certain motifs that always seem to make their way into my work, such as flowers, winding vines, and leaves.

'British' toggle clasp

Can you describe your workspace or studio?

It looks suspiciously like a dining room! The dining table is stacked with various boxes full of canes, polymer clay and tools, and I work at the end of that; it has a view of the garden filled with flowers, perfect for when I need inspiration for my floral beads.

What item would you be secretly heartbroken if it sold?

I’m in love with my Spice Trail beads for some reason – they feel evocative of heady, spicy scents to me, hence the name. I can’t hold onto them though – they need someone whose jewellery style fits them better!

Spice Trail

A few of your favourites:

Colour:

For jewellery and beads, I love all shades of blues and greens, but otherwise, it’s orange.

Artist (dead or alive):

I think most of the artists I admire work in polymer clay; I particularly love Kathleen Dustin‘s use of colour, Jana Benzon Robert’s shapes and forms, and Barbara Sperling’s canework.

Movie:

I’m a movie junkie, so I can’t choose just one – the Lord of the Rings trilogy, Some Like it Hot, and Y Tu Mama Tambien are some favourites, as well as too many embarrassing musicals to mention.

Food:

Cake! Specifically vegan lemon drizzle cake.

Website (crafty or non crafty):

Polymer Clay Daily : it showcases the best of polymer clay art and is a terrific inspiration.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be and why?

I’d love to be able to tolerate extreme temperatures – it would be very handy for when I lampwork! Superspeed for getting places fast would also fantastic, since I never learned to drive, and it would sure speed up all the tedious parts of crafting. 

 When you’re not crafting, what are you doing?

I craft most of the time as I‘m working at building a small business, so between polymer clay, lampworking, and jewellery making, the answer is: not much! I spend quite a bit of the rest of my time reading – I can’t stand not to have a book waiting for me. I’m also a big fan of sci-fi and fantasy TV(*cough*geek*cough*), vegan baking, walking, and writing.

Karma bead set

Tell us something that most people don’t know about you:

I’m oddly proud that I was once bitten by a prairie dog.

Where can we find you?

My main site is at www.continuumdesigns.co.uk for my polymer clay beads. I also blog quite often about a variety of crafty and cakey things at www.allthosethingsandtheotherstoo.blogspot.com, and post new photos at flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/continuumdesigns

Check out Hazel’s fab designs or why not ask her your own question here in the comments section?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Catherine permalink
    June 12, 2011 12:15 pm

    great profile!

  2. June 13, 2011 12:54 pm

    Thanks for a great interview Aster – the questions were so fun!

  3. June 14, 2011 11:05 pm

    What fun! The Spice Trail beads are lovely, I can see why you would be attached to them!

  4. June 15, 2011 11:02 am

    That was brilliant. I really enjoyed that :O)

Leave a Reply

